Normally when we hear something like this, you'll see one of the members of our team scurrying to get to the table before the tournament director so we can catch all of the action and the full ruling. But this is the Main Event. When we heard it this time, five members of the ESPN crew came along with us, as did some other media personnel creating quite a cluster around the table.
On a board, seat four had declared himself all in for 13,375 into a pot already worth at least 20,000. The confusion came from the six seat, who was the last remaining player in the hand, because he had been unclear about what his intended actions were. The dealer told the tournament director that he heard the six seat say, "I call," and then a few seconds later ask, "How much?" The dealer had already instructed the hands to be turned face up, the four seat obeyed these instructions and tabled for a set. The six seat, however, denied ever saying, "I call."
The tournament director asked some of the players around the table and one confirmed what the dealer had heard. A couple of other players seemed more hesitant to get involved but everyone seemed to agree he said something along the lines of "I call." After the player refused for a couple of minutes to make the call, his was forced up by a second tournament director who confirmed the ruling and the last card was dealt.
Eventually, the six seat tossed in the necessary chips but still seems to be steaming about the decision. Luckily for him, he still has a very healthy stack with about 50,000 and this decision did not directly cost him his chance to win the tournament.